Rails Girls San Francisco

January 17-18, 2014

Hello foggy San Francisco!

At Rails Girls, we'll dive into technology and the local community during a free two day crash-course into the to the exciting world of building web applications with Ruby on Rails.

Applications are now closed.

Acceptances informed: January 13th


Engine Yard
500 3rd street, Suite 510
San Francisco, CA 94114

You learn designing, prototyping and coding with help from our coaches.

You need your own laptop, curiosity and a sprinkle of imagination!

Want to help? We are looking for volunteers and Rails coaches.
Email us.


Friday 17th January

6 pm - 8 pm

Installation party

Get know the attendees a little bit before hand. Bring your laptop if you can, so we can install Ruby on Rails for you. Hosted at Engine Yard
500 3rd street, Suite 510
San Francisco, CA 94114

8.30 pm - late

Coach dinner

After the installation party, coaches will be taken to the coaches dinner. The dinner is solely for coaches and organizers. This is a small thank you to the coaches, but we'll also go through the curriculum and things good to know before the workshop

Saturday 18th January

9 - 10 am

Registration, coffee, and bagels

Rails Girls workshop includes learning the first steps into software craftmanship in small teams.

Along with actual coding, you'll get to hear great lightning talks, learn the language of web and meet other likeminded women.

While we're setting up the program for yet another great day of learning, take a look at Berlin, Krakow & Singapore for a glimpse of what happens during the day.
10 - 10:15 am


An outline of the day.
10:20 - 10:40 am


Let's get coding with Jessica Lynn Suttles
10:45 - 12:15 pm


Jumpstart your first web application.

12:15 - 12:45 pm

Introduction to version control

Learn how code is shared and organized with Brent Beer

12:45 - 1:30 pm


We will provide lunch from The Plant Cafe Organic. Vegan and gluten free options will be available.

1:30 - 2 pm

Bentobox - Understanding Web Apps

Recap of what we’ve learned and how it all fits together.
2 - 2:20 pm

Introduction to databases

Learn how applications store and use data with Ines Sombra.

2:20 - 4:30 pm


Extend your application.
4:30 - 5:30 pm

Show and tell

Wrapping up the day and share the application you built.
5:30 pm-ish


We'll meet on the rooftop for cupcakes and refreshments.


Rails Girls San Francisco is co-organized with our awesome partners.

Engine Yard

Engine Yard is the leading Platform as a Service (PaaS) and provides a trusted, commercial grade solution that enables developers to focus on creating great cloud applications, instead of managing their platform.


GitHub is version control for software development and so much more. Whether it's a weekend side project, your favorite open source library, a startup destined for glory, or your company's app, GitHub helps everyone work together with tools for easier collaboration and more visibility. Check it out — open source is free!

New Relic

New Relic is the all-in-one web application performance tool that lets you see performance from the end user experience, through servers, and down to the line of application code.

Sticker Mule

Sticker Mule is the fastest and easiest way to buy custom stickers. They offer free online proofs, 5 day turnaround and free UPS Ground shipping. With print runs starting at $49, they aim to be the Internet's favorite sticker printer.


How much does the workshop cost? Nothing, it's free! You just need to be excited!

Who is this aimed for? Women of any age with basic knowledge of working with a computer. We’ve had people of all ages taking part, most of the crowd usually is young women in their twenties, but we truly welcome everyone.

Can men attend? Yes, but girls are given a priority as this is a workshop targeted for women. You're welcome to fork the project on GitHub and create another kind!

I know how to program - How can I help? We’re also looking for people to be coaches. We’ll walk you through the curriculum at the coaches dinner on Friday. Email us

San Francisco Coaches

Jessica Allen @jessicaspacekat Ines Sombra @randommood Elaine Greenberg @ejgreenberg Brittany Forks @brittanyforks Denis Ivanov @jumph4x Steven! Ragnarök @nuclearsandwich Erik Fode @Ericfode Jessica Lynn Suttles @jlsuttles Brendan Loudermilk @bloudermilk Chris Kelly @amateurhuman Corey Donohoe @atmos Josh Lane @lanejoshlane Daniela Wellisz @alenia Nathan Esquenazi @nesquena Tim Lee @timothy1ee Brent Beer @brntbeer Will Leinweber @leinweber Tim Connor @timocratic Erik Dungan @callmeed Gonzalo Maldonado @elg0nz Mike O'Neill @mike_oneill André Arko @indirect Davy Stevenson @davystevenson Jina Bolton @jina Nichole Treadway @kntreadway Juha-Matti Santala @hamatti Jessica Dillon @jessicard Jake Boxer @jakeboxer Hilary Holz @hilaryholz Petr Bela @petrbela Conrad Irwin @conradirwin Ian Leitch @ileitch Melody Mustaine @arayi Brian Mathiyakom @winterchord Tracy Stalts @itsillegible George Bashi @georgebashi Michael Brodhead @mojinations Zee Spencer @zspencer Eva Roa Sherry Jin