Rails Girls LA March 15 & 16th, 2014

The Largest Rails Girls ever!
250 students, Wow.
It was an amazing success thanks to
our great students, coaches, organizers
and generous sponsors.

Follow @RailsGirlsLA on Twitter for the latest news!

Contact us at railsgirlsla@gmail.com

You learn designing, prototyping and coding with the help from our coaches.

You need your own laptop, curiosity and a sprinkle of imagination!

Want to help? We are looking for coaches. Volunteer to coach.


FAQ

How much does it cost? Nothing, it's free!
You just need to be excited! And you need to show up ready to learn.
If you need to cancel Contact Us.There are limited spots.

Who is this aimed towards?
Women of any age with basic knowledge of working with a computer. We’ve had people of all ages take part. Please bring your laptop.

Can men attend?
Women are given priority, but men are welcome as long as they are accompanied by an interested woman.

How can I help?
Do you know Ruby on Rails? We’re also looking for friendly coaches. We will walk you through the curriculum at the coaches meeting on Friday after the Installation Party. Volunteer to coach.


Schedule: Saturday, March 15, 2014 10am - 4pm

10am - 12 pm

Installation Party

  • Bring your laptop so we can help you install Ruby on Rails and everything else you'll need using the INSTALL GUIDE.
  • Get a Sticker proving you are ready to roll.
  • Even if you already have everything installed please come and show a coach. We will be keeping track of who has gotten a completion sticker.
  • If there is no way you can make it on Saturday and need help with installation make arrangements to come at 9am on Sunday. We want to keep exceptions to the bare minimum Please be respectful of our volunteer coaches' time.

12pm - 1pm

Lunch

We will provide some snacks but because this day is a bit looser format, starts late and ends early, we will NOT be providing lunch. Feel free to BYOL (bring your own lunch) or patronize a nearby restaurant with one of your new friends. Or just keep working.


1pm - 4pm

Presentations

Short, simple presentations about the basics.
If you are already familiar with programming rest up for tomorrow or stay and help someone.You learn a lot by teaching.

  • Ruby vs. Rails by Hannah Howard
  • The Commandline by Jen Diamond
  • Git vs Github by Vyki Englert
  • HTML & CSS by Machiko Yasuda
  • What's a Gem? by JZ aka Joanna Zeta
  • Bentobox™ Exercise led by Machiko Yasuda
  • Sponsors


2pm - 4 pm

Intro to Everything

If you have never done it or you feel like you could use a refresher before tomorrow go through all or some of these tutorials. Coaches will be available to help you.

Ruby
If you are brandy new to Ruby you should go through this tutorial: Try Ruby

GitHub
If you haven't used Github you should go through this tutorial: Try Github

HTML & CSS
If you've never done html or css do these tutorials.
HTML Tutorial & CSS Tutorial

Commandline
If you've never worked in the terminal go through these slides and follow along.
Commandline Tutorial

Schedule: Sunday, March 16, 2014 9am - 6pm

9 am - 10 am

Registration

Register, find your seat, get your name tag, have some breakfast and meet some people.

Late Installations

If you are absolutely not able to attend the Installation Party on Saturday we will get your computer ready to roll.
Please be here by 9am.


10 - 11am

Presentations

  • Welcome to Rails Girls LA!
  • Sponsors
  • Rails Girls from last year- Where are they now?

11am - 1 pm

Workshop

After we break up into small groups, your coach will help you get started on your first web application using the app guide


1 pm - 2 pm

Lunch

Reward yourself for a successful morning with some grub. Talk with your coaches and peers about how awesome your first web applications are. Vegan lunch catered by Margeaux & Linda's Vegan Kitchen.


2 pm - 5 pm

Workshop

Reconvene in small groups and extend your applications. Add commments, put it online with Heroku, or add design.


5 pm - 6 pm

Afterparty!

Reward yourself for a successful day with a tasty beverage and treats. Network and chat with coaches and peers.
Sponsored by: Goldstar Logo



Location

Pasadena Towers

800 East Colorado Blvd. Suite 250
Pasadena, CA 90401
Free Parking in their garage.


❤ ❤ Our sponsors make Rails Girls LA possible! ❤ ❤

Gold Sponsors!

Goldstar Logo
Half Off Live Events from Goldstar Theater, Comedy & More. Join Now!
We help people get out more to live entertainment, like theater, comedy, sports, music, performing arts and even things like wine tastings, sushi making classes and rodeos. Get everything from a venue map to tips on how to dress, where to eat and where to park. We're one of the world's largest online sources of live entertainment user reviews.

Reach Local Logo
At ReachLocal, our mission is to help small-to-medium sized businesses across the globe reach more local customers online and build a healthy, thriving business. We provide end-to-end online services, leveraging BDD software development combined with a modern SOA-based platform built around the most recent version of Ruby on Rails, Cassandra, responsive design mobile technologies, and a robust set of APIs.

Edgecast LogoVerizon EdgeCast is the world's fastest and most reliable content delivery network. On the Verizon EdgeCast network, every online asset – web sites, apps, dynamic or static content – is just milliseconds away from almost every broadband user in the world. More than 6,000 of the world's busiest web sites – including WordPress, Tumblr, Twitter and Pinterest – rely on Verizon EdgeCast.

New Relic LogoGet immediate code-level visibility and build faster, more reliable web and mobile applications.
New Relic is a Software Analytics company that makes sense of billions of metrics across millions of apps. We help the people who build modern software understand the stories their data is trying to tell them.

Github LogoPowerful collaboration, code review, and code management for open source and private projects. Review changes, comment on lines of code, report issues, and plan the future of your project with discussion tools. Work with project collaborators or teams of people in organization accounts to communicate with ease. Share your projects with the world, get feedback, and contribute to millions of repositories hosted on GitHub.

Rovio LogoAngry Birds has expanded rapidly in entertainment, publishing, and licensing to become a beloved international brand. Rovio has grown alongside Angry Birds, and the multifaceted entertainment house currently employs about 800 professionals across it's office around the world.


Silver Sponsors!

Hybrid Group Logo
The Hybrid Group is passionate about making useful things with technology.


Bronze Sponsors!

Rails Tutorial Logo

Stillwater Interactive Logo

Originate Logo

Melanie Burns Logo


Location Sponsors

O'Connor Wealth Management Beacon Capital Logo

Financial Help & Donor



Jones Lang LaSalle Logo

Caterer


Vegan Kitchen Logo

Breakfast Sponsor

Spokeo Logo

After Party Sponsor

Goldstar Logo

Donor - Hannah Howard

MVC Logo

Donor - Nell Scovell

Lean-In Logo

Donor


Spokeo Logo

Rails Girls LA Coaches

Jen Diamond Rails Girls Organizer Jr Developer, WeBRAND @jendiamond Austin Fonacier Rails Girls Organizer Developer, Spokeo @austinrfnd Machiko Yasuda Jr Developer, @machikoyasuda Cynthia Kiser Caltech @cnk

Hannah Howard Logical Reality Design @techgirlwonder Joanna Zeta Software Developer, The Honest Company & Disney Studios @jzeta Laura Popa Web Developer, Revolution Prep Chris Meono Software Engineer, Science Inc @ChrisMeono1022

Vyki Englert Developer, NationBuilder @vyki_e Mariana Lenetis @marianalenetis Stephanie Betancourt IT Directory, California Assoc of Independent Schools @stephanieblack Stephania Gambaroff Thomas Public Void @gambaroff

Donna Rusche Creative Director Jessica Rhee Partner, Reverso Labs @whatsupjess Joyce Hsu @joyicecloud Aileen Alba @acalba_

Kate Lyness Office Manager, Originate @OriginateLabs Rosie Nava Teacher, LAUSD @rosienava1 Ashley Wysocki @ashleywysocki Lynette Yung Front End Developer, UberMedia @jellydonut23

Kit Pearson @kit_pearson Lindsay Hong Student @lindsay_hong_ Celeste Cefalu UX Lead, Freelance Sue Yeh Junior Software Engineer, StackSocial

Jenni Tyliszczak Software Quality Automation/Jr Engineer, The Honest Company @jenniferann41 Bangbay Siboliban @bangbay Rachel Warbelow Middle School Teacher, The Scholars Working OverTime @rwarbelow Emilia Kubo Kirschenbaum Associate Product Manager, Spark Networks @ekubokirs

Matthew Chan Software Developer, Spokeo @MatterOfFact Daniel Banks Project Manager and Lead UI Developer, Spokeo @dbanksdesign Judson Lester Logical Reality Design @judsonlester Michael McCormick Engineer, Pivotal Labs @dipolesource

Zachary Gershman Software Engineer, Pivotal Labs Conrad Steenberg Software Engineer, Expense Cloud @ConradSteenberg Justin Ricaurte Lead Engineer, The Honest Company @ricaurte Dan Kozlowski Software Engineer, Invoca @rubious_dan

Rafia Qutab Developer, NationBuilder @rafiamafia Bruce Park Freelance Web Developer, BinaryWebPark @bpark0 Aureliano Nava High School Teacher Kuba Fietkiewicz Director Engineering, YP @kubaf

Stephen Corwin Developer, NationBuilder @stephen_corwin David Huie Lead services developer, NationBuilder @davidhuie Gene Chuang CTO, Oversee.net @genechuang Daniel Walmsley CTO, NationBuilder @danwalmsley

Roy Lee Software Engineer @royglee Nicholas Shook Software Engineer, Pololu @shicholas Hasan Diwan @hdiwan Marc Delagrammatikas C# .Net Developer @marcdel

Daniel Kolath Software Developer, Spokeo Kevin Goslar Director of Engineering, Originate @kevingoslar Robert Graff CTO, Goldstar @robert_graff Roberto Rivas Developer, Goldstar

John Ryan Senior Software Engineer, Pivotal Labs @jtigger Homan Chou CTO, Sellbrite.com Jerry Cheung Engineer, GitHub Inc. @whatcodecraves Greg Buckner Cofounder, Let's At thebucknerlife

Zahir Wahid IT/CEO ETOY_foundation Michael Kirk Software Engineer/Product Mgr. @ikawe Vance Heron Director of Engineering, HitRecord Jonathan Jeffus CTO, Net Versa, LLC @jjeffus

Jason Perez Business Analyst, Avery Products Corp @jperezish Scott Green Software Engineer, Epoch.com @superscott3000 Edward Courtemanche Senior Security Engineer, East West Bank @EdwardCourt Ara Hacobian @unkleara

Chris Trott Sr. DevOps Engineer, Citrusbyte @trotttrotttrott Pete Elmore Partner, Reverso Labs @reversolabs Alex Perelman Freelancer/Startup Founder @thinkmorebetter Kevin Mehlbrech Web Software Architect, Kadenze Inc.

Russell Cloak Tech Lead, ReachLocal Oscar Taracena Ad Operations Engineer @iOScartaracena Brian Miller Senior Software Engineer, ReachLocal @brimil_01 Scott LaBounty Senior Software Engineer, ReachLocal, Inc.

Oscar Taracena Systems engineer @oscartaracena Christoph Wagner Sr. Solutions Architect, GoodData @chriz Joel Jackson Software Engineer @joeljackson Micah Calabrese Web Developer, Judocode @micahcalabrese

Andrew De Ponte Staff Engineer/Architect, ReachLocal Inc. @cyphactor Andrew De PonteEngineer/Architect, ReachLocal @jayzheng Dave LaDelfa @ladelfa Joshua LoperWeb Designer @El3ctro__

Jay Zhang Senior Software Developer, Sellbrite @jayzheng Alex JanckilaSupport Manager, Omniupdate @alexjanckila Akinori YoshidaSoftware Engineer, mitsubachiworks US inc @marqs Kang HsuQA Director, Collective Cloud Manager @TeamCleanTech