Rails Girls Washington, DC June 4 & 5th, 2014

Here in DC, we're about more than just politics and monuments, we have a strong technology community that loves Ruby and Rails. This summer, Rails Girls DC is hosting a 2-day workshop leading up to RubyNation.

Come to learn or teach about building web applications with Ruby on Rails.

Applications are Now Open through May 15, 2014!

Attendees | Coaches/Volunteers

More details coming soon! Follow @RailsGirlsDC for the latest updates.

Interested in Sponsoring the Workshop?

Rails Girls DC is only as strong as our community that supports us, so we are absolutely thrilled you want to support us! View Opportunities.

You learn designing, prototyping and coding with the help from our coaches.

You need your own laptop, curiosity and a sprinkle of imagination!

Want to help? We are looking for sponsors, volunteers and Rails coaches.


UPCOMING MEETUPS

You can find RailsGirls participants at many DC area meetups, including:

These are a mix of presentations and casual hacker-style events for anyone to come learn, code, and have fun! If you would like your meetup added to this group contact us.

WORKSHOP FAQ

How much does the workshop cost? Nothing, it's free. You just need to be excited!

Who is this aimed at? Women of any age with basic knowledge of working with a computer. We’ve had people of all ages taking part. Please bring your laptop.

I know how to program - How can I help? We’re also looking for people to be coaches. We’ll meet before the event to walk you through the curriculum. Apply now!

Do you have a code of conduct? Yes - it is here. We expect attendees, coaches, and sponsor representatives to behave respectfully to make sure everyone has a great time.


Past Workshops

June 13, 2013

The third workshop was alongside RubyNation and was a day full of hacking and education relating to Ruby, Rails, and becoming successful in the field of technology.

November 3, 2012

The second workshop was part of DCWEEK and held in Microsoft's Offices. This workshop was attended by about 40 participants, 12 coaches and a few organizers and volunteers.

September 14-15, 2012

Held at LivingSocial's office, the first Rails Girls DC received over 170 applications! This workshop was attended by about 40 participants, 16 coaches and a few organizers and volunteers.

More About the Workshops

The Two X-Factor by Pamela Overman

Recap: Rails Girls Washington DC by Karen Gillison

Rails Girls DC - September 2012 by Veronica Erb

Rails Girls DC - Where It All Clicked! by Emily Williamson

Rails + Girls = A Better Community by Intridea

Storify Story About Rails Girls DC #2 by Liz Steininger

September Workshop Photos


June 13, 2013 Team

Jessie Link, Coach @mad_typist Guillermo Esteves, Coach @gesteves Steve McKinney, Coach @stevechiagozie Jessica Eldredge, Coach @jessabean Nichole Treadway, Coach @jomarquez Gregory Kenenitz, Coach @aceofbassgreg Pamela Vong, Coach @pamtaro Melanie Gilman, Coach @melaniegilman Chris Sexton, Coach @crsexton Ed Drain, Coach @soldiercoder Gray Herter, Coach @grayherter Karen Gillison, Coach @kgillison Sandi Metz, Coach @sandimetz John Paul Ashenfelter, Coach @johnashenfelter Rachel Thomspon, Coach @RachelLTC Fiona Teng, Volunteer @feeteng Allison Sheren, Volunteer @alli_p Brigitta Norton, Volunteer @algazel Liz Steininger, Organizer @liz315 Emily Williamson, Lead Organizer @districtEm1

November 3, 2012 Team

Piotr Steininger, coach @polishprince Tim Anderegg, coach @tanderegg Joanna Marquez, coach @jomarquez Laura Ferguson, coach Jacob Patton, coach @trisignia Ed Drain, coach @soldiercoder Jess Eldredge, coach @jessabean Ryan Sandridge, coach @dissolved Pamela Vong, coach @pamtaro Guille Carlos, coach @guillec Lisa Pann Pourkhomami, coach @lpann Alicia Lauerman, coach @allyDvour Liz Steininger, organizer @liz315 Brigitta Norton, organizer @algazel Emily Williamson, volunteer @districtEm1

September 14-15, 2012 Team

Piotr Steininger, coach @polishprince Maria Gutierrez, coach @mariagutierrez Jim Gay, coach @saturnflyer Pamela Overman, coach @pwnela Jessica Eldredge, coach @jessabean Tony Pitale, coach @tpitale Tanya Bodnya, coach Github: tbodnya Ryan Foster, coach @ry_fo Mike Subelsky, coach @subelsky Pete Campbell, coach @sumirolabs Chris Mar, coach @cmar Sean Marcia, coach @seanmarcia Karen Gillison, coach @kgillison Steve McKinney, coach @stevechiagozie Brock Wilcox, coach @awwaiid Liz Steininger, organizer @liz315 Brigitta Norton, organizer @algazel Lynn Wallenstein, volunteer @LynnWallenstein Adelia Curtis Duarte, organizer @ACD20